The sub-region is one of the oldest part of the tribes recognized by the Supreme Laws of Land and they predominate part of West Nile districts correspondingly, that formed the first 16 districts as at October 9th, 1962 independence. Initially, it was known as Madi district comprising of the current Obongi, Adjumani and Moyo Districts with some colonial historic era.